Epilogue > Art Forum > Art/Art - General > Fantasy and comicon convention...
Topic:

Fantasy and comicon conventions advice wanted

[Last post]
7 posts / 0 new
everett1313's picture

I recently started exhibiting at conventions. I have been realizing that the patrons are not very interested in "fine art" but rather would have a smaller, simpler composition of something they recognize and like. Since I'm new to conventions, I wondered who has experience with sales of artwork at conventions. Any advice?

Here's what I think I learned...

1. Keep the composition simple
  2. Use only enough fine detail to flesh out the image, dont make it too busy
  3. Make a "ready to go" product, like using simple precut matts and art bags
  4. Make your pricepoint more than resonable
  5. Bring a helper
  6. Selection, selection,selection

Any input?

Edited by everett1313 on 07/10/2013 - 15:46
skarbog's picture

I think you covered the most important things there!
My experience with these kind of exhibits is that people often do not want to buy originals (they intend to email you about that later etc ), but cards and prints are very popular.

everett1313's picture

Ok, I posted this on Linkedin, with no feedback yet. Im so new to the convention circuit, it is very expensive to have a vendor booth and I want to do everything I can to make this worthwhile. Success is not an absolute need but I would like to be moving in the right direction. Any input would be very appreciated!

While everyone is going to SDCC, I am at work producing artwork for El Paso Comicon
El Paso Comicon is coming up at the end of September. This will only be my second convention I am exhibiting my work. A question for the veterans.....What kind of work is most successful at a comicon in way of artwork or illustration? Here is what I have and what I am considering.